Hon. J. Angus MacLean Natural Areas Award Recipients – 2019

Congratulations to Helen MacPhail and her brother in-law, Eric MacPhail, the recent recipients of the 2019 Hon. J. Angus MacLean Natural Areas Award!

The Hon. J. Angus MacLean Natural Areas award is an award program established by the Island Nature Trust to honour an individual, group, or agency who/which has made a significant contribution to the protection of natural areas in Prince Edward Island.

The MacPhails donated an 80-acre piece of mature Acadian Forest located in Elmwood to the Island Nature Trust in 2015. This was done through the Ecological Gifts Program administered by the Government of Canada which encourages owners of significant ecologically important land to donate it for conservation. The recipient was the Island Nature Trust who now holds the deed for this property. The land has subsequently been legally designated for protection under the Natural Areas Protection Act.

Senator Diane Griffin Presenting the Hon. J. Angus MacLean Award to Helen MacPhail
Senator Diane Griffin Presenting the Hon. J. Angus MacLean Award to Eric MacPhail

Past Winners of INT Awards


1987    Harold Jenkins – establishment of private waterfowl sanctuary.

1989    Col. Patrick & Ann Wootton – protection of Herring Island and Thomas Island.

1990    Hon. J. Angus MacLean – protection of an International Biological Program site on his property.

1991    Mike & Cathy Edward – protection of hemlock stands on their property, part of an IBP site.

1991    Piping Plover Partnership – Piping Plover protection program in the Prince Edward Island National Park: – Canadian Parks Service, – Parks & People Association, – Cavendish Tourist Association

1992    Col. Denny Hopping & Indian River Conservation Development Project – establishment of a nature trail and public education at the Indian River Wildlife Management Area.

1993    Gary Schneider & Macphail Woods Project – active management and educational programs at the Sir Andrew Macphail property, part of which is an International Biological Program site.

1994    Therese d’Amour – establishment of a private nature preserve and for public education.  A contributor to Island Nature Trust projects.

1995    Garry McAdam & Leo Hendricken of Georgetown Elementary Environmental Group for their work.

1996    Dave Biggar for all his work on the Trout River Natural Area, Prince County.

1997    Concerned Citizens of Eastern Kings for successfully preventing the peat mining of Baltic Bog.  Dan McAskill for his life time achievement for outstanding contributions to natural areas preservation.

1998    Dr. Ian MacQuarrie for his lifetime efforts towards protection of natural areas.

1999    Trout River Environmental Committee for work to restore wildlife & fish habitat along Trout River Watershed, Queens County.  Daryl Guignion for his lifetime efforts towards protection of natural areas.

2000    Garnet Buell of Murray River for protection of 100 acres of woodland and wetland.  Bruce Smith of Stratford for over two decades of conservation work on Prince Edward Island.

2001    George Webster for all the work on his land in Maple Plains.  Gary Griffin for conserving almost 100 acres of his land.  Ruth Enman for all her efforts in protecting Hermitage Creek.

2002    Dr. Doug Sobey for his classification of the Island’s forest system and Modhaicdh Farms for implementing a variety of good land stewardship initiatives.

2003    Hon. Gilbert Clements for his contributions to natural areas protection and legislation.

2004    The late Harvey Moore for establishing Moore Bird Sanctuary in Milltown Cross.

2005    Bruce Pigot for all his natural history conservation efforts over the last four decades.

2006    Sisters of St. Martha for creating a wetland just off Mt. Edward Rd. and Rosemary Curley for her lifetime efforts towards the protection of natural areas.

2007    TARRP for their outstanding work to ensure the Eagles Landing Tracadie Bog was protected under the PEI Natural Areas Protection Act.

2008    Diane Griffin for her lifetime efforts towards protection of natural areas.

2009    James & Barbara Munves for protecting two Natural Areas.

2010    No nominations received.

2011    Wendell M. Profitt of Charlottetown for many years of dedicated work for natural areas and Provincial Parks

2012    Dr. Douglas Sobey for his outstanding contribution to natural areas protection.

2013    Upton Farmland Trust for their work to permanently protect & manage green space in the Charlottetown area

2014    Charles Perret & Gloria McKinnon-Perret for donating 187 acres of land at Cable Head East to the Island Nature Trust

2015    Jackie Waddell for all her efforts towards protecting natural areas on PEI.

2016    Nature Conservancy – PEI Chapter & Julie Vasseur for protecting natural areas on PEI.

2017    Edward & Agnes Laughlin for donating their 20.4 acre property at Foley’s Pond in Kildare.

2018    Randy Dibblee for spearheading the mapping of wetlands with scores based on the wildlife values for Prince Edward Island.