

Island Nature Trust (INT or the Trust) Annual General Meeting MINUTES September 20, 2022 6:00pm | Beaconsfiled Carriage House, Charlottetown

Chair, Gordon MacKay	Secretary, Patricia Caporaso	Scrutineer, Janell Smith
	Bianca McGregor	

CALL TO ORDER & WELCOME

- 1. Patricia Caporaso is the secretary and minute taker aided by Executive Director Bianca McGregor.
- 2. Janell Smith, Business Services Manager for Island Nature Trust is today's Scrutineer and has confirmed that there is a quorum present.
- 3. Every member present has been given voting cards; green for yes, red for no and yellow for abstain.
- 4. Notice of the meeting was duly given by:
 - a. Paid publication in The Guardian on August 30, 2022
 - Email notification sent to all members (active and lapsed) on August 30, 2022. The email contained a link – <u>https://islandnaturetrust.ca/AGM</u> - to download the following documents:
 - i. Minutes from the 2021 AGM
 - ii. Copy of INT By-Laws
 - c. Mail by post notification was sent to those members who specifically asked for that medium of communication.
 - d. The AGM agenda, audited financials and Impact Report were uploaded to the shared link when they became available. Hard copies were available for all in attendance.

Notice having been duly given and quorum being present, the Chair declared the meeting open for transaction of business at 6:08pm.

APPROVAL OF 2022 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AGENDA

The 2022 Agenda for the Annual General Meeting was presented.

AGM Motion 09-22.01: Be it moved that the Agenda for the 2022 Island Nature Trust Annual Greneral Meeting be approved as presented. Moved by Keila Miller; seconded by Diane Griffin. A vote was called. All in favour. Motion carried.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES -2021 Annual General Meeting

The minutes from the 2021 Annual General Meeting were presented.

AGM Motion 09-22.02: Be it moved that the minutes of 2020 Island Nature Trust Annual Greneral Meeting be approved as presented. Moved by Diane Griffin; seconded by Roger Coffin. A vote was called. All in favour. Motion carried.

INTRODUCTION OF BOARD MEMBERS

The Chair introduced the 2020/21 INT Board of Directors Executive: Gordon MacKay (President), June Jenkins-Sanderson (Past President), Marie-Ann Bowden (Vice-President), Patricia Caporaso (Secretary) and George Mason (Treasurer).

Members at Large: Roger Coffin, Kim Horrelt, Andrea McManus, Joyce Dewar and Bruce Craig.

Appointed Members: Keila Miller (PEI Wildlife Federation) and Lindsey Burke (Nature PEI).

RECOGNITION OF OUT-GOING MEMBERS

The Chair recognized out-going members Joyce Dewar, Bruce Craig and Jan Matejcek.

OPERATIONAL REPORT

Bianca McGregor, Executive Director provided a brief overview of accomplishments during the fiscal year ending March 31, 2022. Highlights included accomplishments in land protection, stewardship, species at risk monitoring, education and outreach, volunteer recruitment and retention, and donor/partner relationships. All in attendance were povided with a hard copy of the latest Impact Report for reference.

TREASURER'S REPORT

Presentation of Audited Financial Statements

George Mason (Treasurer) presented the audited financial statements for 2021/22. They were prepared by Fitzpatrick and Company. A high level overview was presented.

AGM Motion 09-22.03 Be it moved that the 2021-2021 audited financial prepared by Fitzpatrick and Company be approved as presented. Moved by George Mason; seconded by Marie-Ann Bowden. Vote held. Twenty-five votes in favour, zero votes against, and one abstention. Motion carried.

Appointment of Auditors for 2022/23

AGM Motion 09-22.04: Be it moved that Fitzpatrick and Company Chartered Professional Accountants be appointed as the auditor for Island Nature Trust for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2023. Moved by George Mason; seconded by Roger Coffin. A vote was called. All in favour.

Motion carried.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

Patricia Caporaso, Secretary presented the Nominating Committee's report noting two nominees for the Board of Directors:

- 1. David Hooley
- 2. Roger Roy

A call for nominations from the floor was made three times with no further nominations put forward.

AGM Motion 09-22.05: Be it moved that David Hooley and Roger Roy be approved to the Island Nature Trust Board of Directors. Moved by Rosemary ; seconded by Roger Coffin. A vote was called. All in favour. Motion carried.

PRESENTATION OF HON. J. ANGUS MACLEAN NATURAL AREAS AWARD

The Hon. J Angus MacLean Natural Areas Awards is presented annually by INT to honour a group, individual or agency that has made a significant contribution to the protection of natural areas in Prince Edward Island. An Awards Committee reviews nominations.

This year the Hon. J. Angus MacLean Award was presented by Diane Griffin to Megan Harris for her work and commitment to conservation in Prince Edward Island. Megan Harris received two nominations. Megan was unable to attend in person, but sent Diane a thank you note to read out to those in attendance.

VISION FOR THE FUTURE AND CLOSING REMARKS

The Chair outlined some of the Trust's plans for the current fiscal year including:

- A continued focus on land protection whtough purchased and donated acquisitions, acquisitions for partners in conservation, and by educating and assisting private landowners in private protection.
- A continued focus on actively stewarding the Trust's 66 natural areas and future acquisitions.
- A Continued focus on sounding the alarm, watch over and educate Islanders about species at risk.
- Continuing to nurture partnerships with like-minded organizations locally, regionally and nationally.

ADJOURNMENT

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 7:02pm.

Drafted by: Bianca McGregor and Janell Smith Approved for circulation by: Patricia Caporaso